50 years ago the 24 hours‘ race in Le Mans took place for the 36th time. Almost – because of some students‘ riots in the country and the strikes thereof, this legendary race had to be postponed until the 28th/29th September.

 

For his JWA GULF racing team, John Wyer advanced the Ford GT 40 for this race. The most experienced duo were Pedro Rodríguez and Lucien Bianchi, both of them frequent participants in the Le Mans races. Rodríguez and Bianchi forged ahead of the race and with a lead of 5 rounds and 4452,880 kilometres (185.536 km/h) they had the overall victory, the first for the JWA GULF racing team. More information on the course of this race and the results can be found here.

 

Also this year, GULF-Racing started in this race with a Porsche RSR. After a good qualification the team competed in the race full of expectations. But they were entangled into an accident right at the beginning through no fault of their own. With the repiar of their fast car the lost time that they could not regain. The team fought back to a respectable 10th place after 324 laps.

Ben Barker mentioned: „It is a pity that after 24 hours we could not reach the place we wished. The car was very fast throughout the race, even after the accident. The team made a fantastic job with no mistakes. The accident at the beginning was simply bad luck.“ (from speed-magazine.de)

On the occasion of the jubilee our model JIM is offered as a Le Mans Special Edition “First Victory“ now for a limited period of time. Upon request, we refine the frame for you in cooperation with our German partner. The Special Edition will show a laser engravement on the left lens and on the tinbox as well as a special lightblue colouring of the metal sidepiece.

High value spring hinges, adjustable carbon fibre temples with rubber inside as well as lenses with antireflection coating are part of the equipment on this Special Edition as well.

Don’t miss this one-time opportunity and order the Special Le Mans Edition until 30tth June 2018. After that, JIM will be individualized especially for you. Special Edition “First Victory”

Leave a Reply

Vor 50 Jahren fand die 36. Ausgabe des 24-Stunden-Rennen von Le Mans statt. Nicht ganz, denn aufgrund der Studentenproteste im Land und der damit verbundenen Streiks musste das legendäre Rennen auf das Wochenende vom 28.-29. September 1968 verschoben werden.

Für sein JWA GULF-Racing Team hatte Teamchef John Wyer den Ford GT40 für das Rennen weiterentwickelt. Das routinierteste Duo im Team bildeten Pedro Rodríguez und Lucien Bianchi, die beide schon viele Male in Le Mans am Start waren. Rodríguez und Bianchi fuhren in einem spannenden Rennen an die Spitze und erzielten mit einem Vorsprung von fünf Runden und 4452,880 Kilometern (185,536 km/h) den Gesamtsieg, den ersten für das JWA GULF-Racing Team. Mehr zum Rennverlauf und die Ergebnisse finden Sie hier.

Auch in diesem Jahr ging GULF-Racing mit einem Porsche RSR an den Start. Nach einer sehr guten Qualifikation (P2) ging das Team voller Erwartung ins Rennen, wurde aber unverschuldet zu Rennbeginn in einen Unfall verwickelt und verlor durch die Reparatur des Boliden Zeit, die nicht mehr aufgeholt werden konnte. Das Team kämpfte sich mit 324 gefahrenen Runden auf einen respektablen zehnten Platz.

Ben Barker sagte dazu: „Leider konnten wir nicht die Platzierung erreichen, die wir uns nach 24 Stunden gewünscht hatten. Das Auto war das gesamte Rennen über sehr schnell, auch nach unserem Unfall. Das Team hat einen grandiosen Job gemacht und sich keine Fehler geleistet. Der Unfall am Anfang war einfach Pech.“ (aus speed-magazin.de)

 

Anlässlich des Jubiläums bieten wir unser Modell Jim als Le Mans Special Edition „First Victory“ für eine begrenzte Zeit an. Auf Anfrage veredeln wir die Fassung bei unserem deutschen Partner für Sie.

Die Special Edition verfügt über eine spezielle Gravur auf dem linken Glas sowie auf der Metallbox und eine besondere Färbung der Backe. Hochwertige Federscharniere, anpassbare Karbonbügel mit Rubber-Innenseite sowie Gläser mit Anti-Reflexionsbeschichtung gehören auch hier zur Ausstattung.

 

Nutzen Sie diese einmalige Gelegenheit und bestellen Sie diese Le Mans Special Edition bis zum 30. Juni. Danach wird Jim speziell für Sie von Hand veredelt. Special Edition „First Victory“

Schreibe einen Kommentar